For Immediate Release Thursday, April 6, 2000

Pioneer Award Winners Honored at Ninth Annual Ceremony in Toronto

"Librarians Everywhere", Tim Berners-Lee and Phil Agre Win Pioneer Awards at CFP 2000

Electronic Frontier Foundation Media Release

Toronto, Canada -- The ceremony for the Ninth Annual EFF Pioneer Awards will take place on April 6th, 2000 as part of the Computers, Freedom and Privacy conference which is going on this week in Toronto, Canada. The online civil liberties group chose to honor: Librarians Everywhere, in appreciation of the difficult and often overlooked battles that many librarians have fought to protect free expression on to the Internet, as well our privacy and equity of access rights; Tim Berners-Lee for his popularization of the concept of the World Wide Web, and Phil Agre, for his dedication in educating the public about the social and political aspects of technology and computing.

Tim Berners-Lee holds the 3Com Founders chair at the Laboratory for Computer Science ( LCS)at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He directs the World Wide Web Consortium, an open forum of companies and organizations with the mission to lead the Web to its full potential. We recognize Tim for having the vision to recognize the significance of the research done on hyperlinks, and for bringing the concept of the World Wide Web to its popular and widely used standing.

Phil Agre is an associate professor of information studies at the University of California, Los Angeles. He founded and maintains a mailing list entitled Red Rock Eater News Service (RRE). Most of the messages concern social and political aspects of computing and networking. Agre dedicates a commendable measure of intellect and energy to helping people become aware of issues, conferences, e-newsletters, and URLs that deepen societal awareness of technical issues.

"Librarians Everywhere": Karen Schneider (Technical Director of the Shenendehowa Public Library, Clifton, NY) has been chosen to accept this award on behalf of and as a representative of librarians around the world fighting for the public's right to free expression in cyberspace. These librarians have also been on the front-line working to prevent censorship of the Internet in libraries, privacy of check-out records, and equity of access to all information contained in the library. These librarians act from a strong core ethic. Their individual actions show admirable bravery as they stand up for intellectual freedom and democracy though in many cases, their jobs are on the line.

The EFF Pioneer Awards have been used by the Electronic Frontier Foundation since 1991 to recognize individuals who have made significant and influential contributions to the development of computer-mediated communications or to the empowerment of individuals in using computers and the Internet.

"When we began the pioneer awards, few realized how much the digital world would change the whole world," states EFF Chairman, Brad Templeton. "Now, while the online revolution no longer needs an introduction, those we recognize today, along with the prior honorees, represent the pioneers of the pioneers. We're living at the dawn of a new age, and unlike most such dawns, we're actually aware of it. These people have fought to change the world and make it a better and freer place."

In March of 1992, the first EFF Pioneer Awards were given in Washington, DC to: Douglas C. Engelbart, Robert Kahn, Jim Warren, Tom Jennings, and Andrzej Smereczynski. The 1993 Pioneer Award recipients were Paul Baran, Vinton Cerf, Ward Christensen, Dave Hughes and the USENET software developers, represented by the software's originators Tom Truscott and Jim Ellis. The 1994 Pioneer Award winners were Ivan Sutherland, Whitfield Diffie and Martin Hellman, Murray Turoff and Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Lee Felsenstein, Bill Atkinson, and the WELL. The 1995 Pioneer Award winners were Philip Zimmermann, Anita Borg, and Willis Ware. The 1996 winners were Shabbir Safdar, Matt Blaze, Peter Neumann, and Robert Metcalfe. The 1997 winners were Marc Rotenberg, Johan "Julf" Helsingius, and (special honorees) Hedy Lamarr and (posthumously) George Antheil. The 1998 winners were Linus Torvalds, Richard Stallman, and Barbara Simons. The 1999 winners were Jon Postel (posthumously), Drazen Pantic, and Simon Davies.

The judges for this year's EFF Pioneer Awards were: Herb Brody, Senior Editor, Technology Review; Dave Farber, Chief Technologist, FCC; Moira Gunn, Host, Tech Nation, NPR; Larry Irving, CEO,; Tara Lemmey, Executive Director, EFF; Peter G. Neumann, Principal Scientist, Computer Science Lab, SRI International and Moderator, ACM Risks Forum (1996 EFF Pioneer Award Recipient); Susan H. Nycum, Partner, Baker & McKenzie; Drazen Pantic, NYU Center for War, Peace, & the News Media (1999 EFF Pioneer Award Recipient); Barbara Simons, President, ACM (1998 EFF Pioneer Award Recipient)

The Ninth Annual EFF Pioneer Awards ceremony will be held on the evening of April 6, 2000 in Toronto's historic St. Lawrence Hall. The ceremony and reception are made possible by a contribution from



Katina Bishop
   Electronic Frontier Foundation

About EFF:

The Electronic Frontier Foundation is the leading global nonprofit organization linking technical architectures with legal frameworks to support the rights of individuals in an open society. Founded in 1990, EFF actively encourages and challenges industry and government to support free expression, privacy, and openness in the information society. EFF is a member-supported organization and maintains one of the most-linked-to Web sites in the world.